Sculpture by the Sea 2010

Since 2010 it has been our couple tradition to check out the Sculpture by the Sea until last year. Last year, Wade wasn’t so keen to go and obviously neither was I, otherwise I would’ve insisted we go.

For this year, I’ve already blocked our calendars and we’re definitely going to check it out again! Despite the heavy foot traffic and annoying crowd, the sculptures are still amazing, different, and makes me go wow and all giddy – so that’s gotta be worth it, right?

sculpture by the sea

I wonder if they actually sell these sculptures. Where do people store it if it’s for personal use?

sculpture by the sea

sculpture by the sea

Tip 1: DO. NOT. DRIVE. DO. NOT. BRING. A. CAR.

Extra public transport are provided especially on busy days like weekends. There are express buses from Bondi Junction to Bondi Beach so it’s very easy and convenient minus the packed to the rafters bus and heavy traffic.

I don’t drive yet (I’m currently on my learners) but I think you’d rather be stuck in traffic as a passenger rather than as a driver and not worry about pricey parking.

sculpture by the sea

I love my cheese so this caught my eye, not to mention it looks like my Kmart grater.

sculpture by the sea

Tip 2: Wear easy to carry sandals/slippers like mine so you can walk on barefoot unless you want sand all over the insides of your shoes.

sculpture by the sea

Tip 3: Bring sunnies and sunscreen. You’ll need it. There are sunscreen stations in the area but best to BYO.

sculpture by the sea

Tip 4: Bring a lot of patience and politeness with you. There are more and more people going to Sculpture by the Sea every year. It’s a public event, so don’t ever forget to be respectful of others. Everyone wants an amazing photo so take turns and be patient in waiting.

sculpture by the sea

sculpture by the sea

Tip 5: Learn to own the crowd or edit them out later on.

sculpture by the sea

sculpture by the sea

Tip 6: Bring water with you. You’re under direct sunlight and it’s a fair bit of walk and running (if you get excited like me) from Bondi Beach to Tamarama Beach (or the other way around).

See you at this year’s Sculpture by the Sea.

Leave a Reply

