From Manila to Sydney (This is it!)

The first time I stepped foot in Sydney CBD — circa May 2010.

My big (I meant older but I suppose you can also say big – he’s not in any of the photos though so you can’t see what I’m trying to say. Ha! Here’s to hoping he doesn’t read this but I’ll probably link it to him anyway) brother brought me to the city. He’s a banker on weekdays and a professional photographer on weekends. Hence these really good photos taken from a point-n-shoot camera.

QVB

5 years later, I still don’t shop at the Queen Victoria Building (QVB). Oh, actually once from the Jigsaw store. The QVB could be accessed from Town Hall station, of the major stops in the CBD.

Pyrmont Bridge

Pyrmont Bridge, now I walk here everyday (when I’m not lazy to catch the light rail from Central to Pyrmont) to get to work. Such a beautiful walk especially on sunset. I’ve heard this bridge lifts up a bit to give way to ginormous vessels, I have yet to witness that but I would love to.

Darling Harbour

Harbourside Shopping Centre

Darling Harbour

Darling Harbour

Darling Harbour

Darling Harbour, looks absolutely different now, well sort of. The Sydney 2000 post and the water “park” is gone, the Convention Centre is also being renovated to something bigger and better.

Darling Harbour

Darling Harbour

These square blocks and water “falls” are still there though. Still makes me smile every time I see tourists doing the same pose as I did five years ago. This end of Darling Harbour is connected to Sydney’s China Town where you can have the most value for money when it comes to food. I’ll write up a few entries on my favourites then I’ll link it here.

Ferry

Catching a ferry in the city still fascinates me. I sometimes pick up Wade from North Sydney by catching a ferry from Pyrmont after work on Fridays just so I can catch the ferry. Simple joys that we couldn’t do back in Manila because the rivers and oceans in the city are all too dirty.

For this one, we caught the ferry from Darling Harbour to Sydney Opera House (Circular Quay) which was the last stop. You can also catch this ferry to get to Luna Park in Milsons Point.

Harbour Bridge

Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

Opera House

How cool are these Opera House photos?! I was browsing them moments ago and was really loving it. By the way, I still have those socks and glasses and just recently got rid of the bag.

Opera House

Outside Opera Bar, a good place to have Friday night drinks (or any other night actually) especially during Spring/Summer.

Leave a Reply

